The Liebster Award

This is the first time I’m responding to an award nomination. Alienora at http://alienorajt.wordpress.com/ nominated me once before, but frankly, I had no idea what to do! Now that my brain is working a little better than that particular day, here’s my response to the nomination!

Rules Of The Award Copied From Ali (Was I supposed to do this?)

You must link back the person who nominated you.
You must answer the 10 Liebster questions given to you by the nominee before you.
You must pick 10 bloggers to be nominated for the award with under 200 followers.
You must come up with 10 questions for your nominees to answer.
You must go to their blogs and notify your nominees.

My answers to Ali’s 10 questions:

1. First Memory:

Waiting for my sisters to come back from school. I was three. I used to sit on top of a slide facing their school and wait for them to emerge and walk over to me. Then we would go home together!

2. Favourite Color:

Purple, That royal, broody, dark purple that you just want to slather over yourself and all your belongings! Oh wait, all my clothes and possessions already are purple.

And black. Black is a philosophy in itself. It stands for sorrow and sadness, and yet, the solidity of black is so thought-provoking for me! You can always depend on black. Everything looks sophisticated and elegant in black.

I think that’s enough obsessing over black and purple. On to the next question!

3. Favourite Music:

Ah, the most difficult of them all! I would say rock, but yet some of my favourite songs are not rock at all. But yes my playlist is 80% Alternative Rock, 10% Metal and the rest is a hodge-podge of soundtrack music and other genres!

Right now at the top of my playlist:

Demons by Imagine Dragons (my newest obsession)

Radioactive also by Imagine Dragons

Salvation by the Scanners

Somewhere Only We Know by Keane

Leave Out All The Rest by Linkin Park

Top Of The World by The Carpenters

4. Instruments I Play:

None. I always wanted to learn to play the piano, but I couldn’t do it. People as rash and impatient as me aren’t really made for playing musical instruments, except maybe the drums, because you can take out all of your frustration on them.

5. Favourite Film:

Okay I take it back, this is the most difficult question! I have a lot of favourite films, I like action-thriller films like The Bourne Trilogy (the fourth one was an epic fail, so I’ll always consider this a trilogy). I hate romantic comedies. Well at least I pretend to, but really, who doesn’t like to watch a hot guy fall in love with a hot girl and live happily ever after?

I really hate yucky comedies like The Dictator. They’re gross.

A film I’ve watched dozens of time: Gladiator.

“My name is Maximus Decimus Meridius, commander of the Armies of the North, General of the Felix Legions and loyal servant to the TRUE emperor, Marcus Aurelius. Father to a murdered son, husband to a murdered wife. And I will have my vengeance, in this life or the next.”

And this is where I die and go to heaven. Every single time!

6. Favourite Fairy Tale Character:

Definitely Belle from Beauty and the Beast. Mainly because she isn’t a damsel in distress. She stands up for herself. She rescues her father. She defies the villagers. Also, she reads! She’s my Disney twin, so naturally I love her!

7. The Person I Love Most In The World:

My daddy! He’s always there for me. I’m missing him so much. I was ill today, and I was making my own ‘hospital food’ when he’s the one who usually does that. He’s coming back in a week from the UK, and then I’m placing him under house arrest for atleast a month!

He is 48 years older than me. We have problems with communication. But still, in the end, I know I can count on him and that what he does will always be in my best interest. He’s witty, he’s charming, he’s learned, experienced, diverse and just about every god damn positive adjective in the dictionary! And yes I might be a little biased, but whose dad get’s up at 6 in the morning  and makes breakfast for their daughter for years? He used to polish my shoes and dress me when I was little. He covered my notebooks in neat wrappings and he still does that. These little things are the ones that count. And on top of doing so much for me, he has a diploma in engineering, a baccalaureate in English, a Law degree and a Masters degree in Business! And did I mention he is a retired Wing Commander of the Pakistan Air Force?

So yes, my daddy is awesome, and for me, he’ll always be the best man in the world!

8. Read or watch TV?

Read. I watch a few selective things on the TV, like the series Revenge, or maybe The Big Bang Theory, but other than that, my nose is always buried in a book. Or nowadays, in my phone. Thank you, e-books!

9. The Best Thing About Me:

I don’t know. I’m a teen, we aren’t really known for figuring out our strengths and weaknesses!

But if I have to say something, it’ll be that I’m loyal to a fault and very protective of my family. Only I can make them cry, no one else, got it?

10. What Made Me Become A Blogger:

My hormones. No really, it’s true! I needed an outlet for all my teen angst. I had two options, install a punching bag in the storeroom, or blog. Naturally I chose the lazy path. This is like the diary a psychologist suggests you keep to vent out your feelings. And somewhere along the way, it also became my passion.

Whew that was long! Now on to more important matters. Since I’m a newbie I can’t really list 10 nominees, I barely follow 10 blogs. And I can’t include the big ‘uns like Ali’s. So here are the few worth mentioning:

  1. High Heels Off
  2. Jet Lag
  3. Living Because Of EDS

These are all new bloggers, so they still have a long way to go (look at me, acting like a pro when I’m only a month old myself!) But their content is very much worth the read.

And now for the questions!

  1. Whose baby are you? Mom’s or Dad’s?
  2. Do you like children, babies, more specifically?
  3. Are you a cat person or a dog person?
  4. Where do you think a woman’s place is? The office or the kitchen?
  5. Are you the first, middle, last or only child?
  6. Do you exercise?
  7. What’s worse: resisting chocolate, or gaining a few pounds?
  8. Would you consider yourself an introvert or an extrovert?
  9. Do you like to read?
  10. What genre of music do you like most?

I think I’m done. I have no idea what’s going to happen next in this Award thing-y! But I guess that’s the beauty of it.

9 thoughts on “The Liebster Award

  1. Hi Raiha! This is a great post you’ve got here. I remember how you once stated that we are similar, and after reading these answers I agree even more. I can’t believe your favorite fairytale character is Belle! I thought I was one of the very few who didn’t like the conventional Cinderella/Snow-white. Anyway, thanks again for nominating me and you can read my answers to your questions here: http://zarajandurrani.wordpress.com/2013/08/28/and-now-for-the-drum-roll-liebster-award/

Leave a Reply

