The Conception of a Brainchild

This is one of those posts. The one where I’m going to implore to the goodness of your heart to help a young writer in need of encouragement and constructive criticism.

A few years ago as I was buried deep beneath the exciting, albeit mediocre, writings of fellow amateur writers on young-adult romance and issues plaguing the youth, an idea started to float through my head.

Over time, it has evolved into something very different. And something way less embarrassing than what was originally, a damsel in distress scenario. Although even then, my damsel was very, for lack of a better word, badass.

I have this very annoying trait that I do not write as much as I should. Brilliant ideas that enter and exit my mind at will are never solidified on paper. There are no story ideas, no first drafts anywhere except in my cavernous mind, where things sometime get undeniably lost.

And so, as this particular idea was found again by my semi-conscious mind while I was napping in the afternoon, I decided to act on it.

I want my dear readers to comment on the post I am about to publish after this one. I want to go through with it, but at the same time, I don’t.

I have shared with you the most important focus of this novel, or as I want it to be, this short story.

This character came to me as I was sick and tired of reading about petite, blond and perfect princesses with troubled pasts and innocent Bambi eyes. She may even, in a more intense and exaggerated alternate universe, embody me.

Although my, unnamed as of yet, character does have a troubled past, she has two completely different colored eyes.

That is just a single one of her discerning traits.

Read more to know more about her, and tell me whether I should go through with this or not…

3 thoughts on “The Conception of a Brainchild

Leave a Reply

