All Good Things Come In Threes (Sometimes Fours)

It seems as if being patient really does have its benefits.

And it also seems as if God and I are in this unspoken deal of threes.

Whenever I want something, I don’t get it just then. I have to wait. But when it does come, it comes triple fold. An example; I had wanted my own laptop for a long time. Different reasons became obstacles and I ended up yearning to have my very own albeit mediocre device for some six months. When my dad finally presented me with an HP EliteBook PC with a Corei5 processor, 4 GB RAM and an insanely awesome graphic card, I was elated. Now if I had hurried the purchase, I probably would have gotten a cheaper, more outdated device.

Now I’m saying all this because God humored me with another hat-trick recently. Ever since I had chosen the lesser known Foundation University over the ever-so-prestigious NUST Business School, I had been a sufferer of cognitive dissonance. The main reason for that was the lack of societies in FURC whereas my NUST friends kept on regaling me with tales of their very cool, very posh society events.

I wished, prayed, socialized and argued to have societies in my university.

And so as a revolution began in FURC, I was one of the first to apply for an interview to be recruited into the Media Society. Even after a slight misunderstanding, I made it.

Also, even though I didn’t really apply to the Dramatic Society, I was recruited into it by the society coordinator, a talented stage actor himself, as his screenwriter after we shared a crazy 15 minute conservation.

Since the real love of my life is words, there is no way I am not joining the Literary Society, headed by my unOrthodox and amazing English teacher, which is due to be born any day now.

So the hat-trick is complete.

But this time God sneakily decided to make it a quadruple whopper; I had supported a senior of mine to re-register her previously forgotten Student Society and I feel obligated to carry through with my promise and join her society as well.

Which leads to this question, one that I will have to ask my Program Advisor very soon; can a single student, a freshman at that, join four societies at once?

And God, since we already have this thing with threes going on, can you please influence my dad to have my outdated HTC Desire S with 1 GB RAM, 5 megapixel camera, 2.3 Gingerbread OS phone replaced with a Motorola Moto X with 2 GB RAM, 10 megapixel camera and 4.4 KitKat OS?

Oh and since my scholarship application  was to be considered for both the UGrad Exchange program of six months and the NESA Program of one year plus government internship and community service, and I’ve been waiting very patiently for response… Well You know what I’m gonna ask don’t You?

3 thoughts on “All Good Things Come In Threes (Sometimes Fours)

Leave a Reply

