Tween Metal Chick

In response to the Daily Prompt

I’m nineteen, and my playlist contains songs from Alternative Rock bands to Glam Metal bands. The top five songs nowadays are from Avenged Sevenfold, Metallica, New Politics and Nickelback.

I was thirteen, and my playlist contained songs from metal/Alt.Rock band Evanescence.

I have never liked pop. It’s too… fun. You know, all light and bright and cutesy and mainstream.

I was introduced to Evanescence when I was twelve by my then-25 year old-rock-fan brother. I heard the song “Bring me to Life” playing in his car and fell in love. Then my friend Urooj presented me with that life-changing CD. Read the full story and my obsession with Evanescence here.

Amy Lee was my teenage idol. When I reactivated my Facebook account after a couple of years in 2011, I reminisced over the many Amy Lee pictures I used to post. Her voice, her dresses and her goth style were my favorite things during those years. I had a poster of her on my wall. I made drawings inspired by Ev’s songs. My playlist had all 23 songs of The Open Door and Fallen, Evanescence’s best-selling albums. Along with those I did have some mainstream pop songs in my list, like Katy Perry and Rihanna, for whenever I felt brave enough to venture out in the brightness of love ballads and happiness.

My sisters always used to ask why I listened to the ‘noise’ that is metal. People never understand the feeling rock music gives you.

The loud electric guitar puts you in an isolated world of your own. A bubble of sound, that is your own to ponder in. The beat  of the drum makes your body moves on its own. The words flow from the vocalists mouth in a flurry of passion and emotion. They scream, they shout, just because they want to, just because they can. The lyrics, oh the lyrics. Poetry. About life, about staying strong, about holding your head high, about unity, about being different. Thought provoking words coming one after the other accompanied by amazing guitar solos that leaves one mesmerized by the skill and precision in the fingers of the guitarist.

I have not heard an Evanescence song in about 4 years. But still sometimes I find myself humming to Going Under or My Immortal, and I can hear Amy Lee’s hauntingly beautiful voice in my ears as if I’m surrounded by Dolby speakers. It is then I am reminded of what a prodigy I was and somewhat am, while all my peers chattered about One Direction and Justin Beiber, I sat in a corner listening to Linkin Park on repeat.

Leave a Reply

