The Garden Of My Dreams… And Nightmares

The lights twinkled like stars. They were strewn everywhere, over bushes and trees and strung across the courtyard high above my head. The smell of roses permeated through the lush garden, tickling my nose with the most delightful aroma. As I walked farther into the garden, I took off my shoes to feel nature unhindered. The cobbled path massaged my feet better than a thousand dollar machine and I sighed in contentment. I let my fingertips brush the tops of the jasmine bushes that lined the path. The chirps of the crickets and other night creatures became louder and louder as I ventured deeper and deeper into the garden. I could smell the fragrance of the jasmine as well, and I couldn’t resist plucking a tiny bud to fix in my hair. I could feel a smile on my face as I skipped along the delightful flowers.

It was then that exquisite music started floating through the air and reached my ears, sending me into heavenly bliss. Piano; my favorite. The gentle notes rose in a crescendo of frenzied passion, and with the music, I rose as well. My mind; at peace. My heart; beating fast. My soul; singing in perfect harmony to the music. I realized that I had ventured off the path and stopped; my toes curled in the plush grass, my arms, riddled with goosebumps, motionless by my side and my eyes closed in rapture.

And then, the mysterious  music stopped as abruptly as it had begun. I jolted awake from my abandoned state of euphoria and my feet started moving on their own. Forward, they took me, deeper into the garden, as my head was filled with only a single thought, that I must find the source  of the music, that I must know who played so angelically and I must know why they had stopped.

I squared my shoulders in determination as I rushed through the garden, its beauty forgotten as I focused only on finding the origin of the notes that had so enraptured me. With the music, it seemed as if my nocturnal friends had also stopped singing their song, resulting in a deathly silence. The previously charming fairy lights seemed to cast long shadows on the ground. The roses looked garish in the eerie glow as  the lights flickered above my head.

I panicked.

Terrified, I ran and soon became lost in a waist length maze of thorny bushes. They seemed to enclose upon me, and I tried to keep my beautiful dress from tearing into shreds. Finally, scratched and petrified, I stumbled into a clearing. There was a lantern hung in the centre of the clearing, and below it, bathed in yellow light, sat an ebony black grand piano, as quiet and still as those who lie in crypts. The stool in front of it lay empty, and as I cautiously walked to it, what I saw, and heard, made my heart stop for a second.

Phantom hands had started playing the piano, this time in a haunting otherworldly tone, the notes rising and falling with my ragged breath, as I kept staring at the keys being pressed down as if by their own accord.

This time, when the tune hit its crescendo, I felt my eyes roll into the back of head, as I fell and fell and fell.

I lay among the roses, the lights twinkling above me, as, from my tilted viewpoint I saw a glow appear around the piano stool. Before I could distinguish the shining figure that had materialized on the chair, I felt my eyes close as I slept … and slept … and slept.

The para was written (actually hand-written, which is seldom for me) by me as practice for my English class. We are doing descriptive and narrative paragraphs, and I guess this is both. English teachers, comment!

4 thoughts on “The Garden Of My Dreams… And Nightmares

    • Thank you Ali! But if I were to categorize this piece, would it be narrative, descriptive or both? Stuck in the technicalities of the English language!

      • alienorajt says:

        I would say it fits most neatly into the descriptive evocation of atmosphere category because that is what stands out above the narrative. xxx

Leave a Reply

